Inuit Regions of Canada

In Canada, the Inuit number 55,000 people, or 4.3% of the Aboriginal population. They live in 53 Arctic communities in four Land Claims regions: Nunatsiavut (Labrador); Nunavik (Quebec); Nunavut; and the Inuvialuit Settlement Region of the Northwest Territories.

In 2005, the Labrador Inuit Association, formerly representative of the Labrador Inuit, signed a settlement for their land claim that covers 72,500 square kilometres. The Nunatsiavut government was created in 2006. It is the only ethnic- style government to be formed among the four Inuit regions to date.

The Nunavut land claim, which covers two million square kilometres, was settled in 1993. The Nunavut government was created in April 1999. It represents all Nunavut citizens. Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI) represents Inuit beneficiaries of the Nunavut Land Claim Agreement.

The Nunavik land claim (James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement) was settled in 1975. The Nunavik area covers 550,000 square kilometres, which is one-third of the province of Quebec. Makivik Corporation was created to adminster the James Bay Agreement and represent Inuit beneficiaries. Nunavik is working to develop a regional government for the region.

The Inuvialuit land claim was signed in 1984 and covers 91,000 square kilometres in the Northwest Territories. The Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC) represents Inuvialuit beneficiaries. They, too, are continuing with negotiations for self-government arrangements.

Yearly update

Read the 2012 yearbook article on indigenous peoples in the Inuit Regions of Canada to learn about major developments and events during 2011 (internal link)

Download the 2011 yearbook article on indigenous peoples in the Inuit regions in Canada to read more about major developments and events during 2010